Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Carloluigi Colombo paints



  1. Replies
    1. Ahi serva Italia, di dolore ostello,
      nave sanza nocchiere in gran tempesta,
      non donna di province, ma bordello!

  2. In 590 pope Gregorius I finalized the list of seven deadly sins as pride, greed, lust, envy, gluttony, wrath, and sloth, which are all abuses or excessive versions of people's natural faculties or passions. The classification originated with the 4th-century Egyptian monk Evagrius Ponticus, who identified eight evil thoughts that needed to be overcome. His pupil Ioannus Cassianus was responsible for introducing the notion to Europe, where it became fundamental to Catholic confessional practices to help people stop their inclination towards evil before dire consequences and misdeeds occurred. Pride and greed were thought to underlie all other sins. Dante Alighieri structured his “Purgatorio” around the seven deadly sins. The top levels of the Mountain of Purgatory have the lease serious ones, while the lowest levels have the more serious ones. The highest levels (luxuria / lust; gula / gluttony; avaritia / greed) represented the faculties that humans share with animals to meet physical needs; acedia / sloth was a lack of passion; the lowest levels (ra / wrath; invidia / envy; superbia / pride) were all perversions of love and were directed toward harming others; they represented the abuse of the rational faculty, which makes humans most like God and therefore the worst violations.


Join the conversation! What is your reaction to the post?